Hot Stuff! (an experiment with chilli pickle)

One of the areas I’m interested in is Food and I love to cook. Now, I’m not saying I’m an excellent cook, simply that I LOVE to cook and I LOVE to eat!

I recently got my hands on some farm fresh chillies – straight from the farm to my kitchen. Here’s a picture of them:
bullet chilli pic for blog

It would have taken me at least 3 months to finish all the chillies had I used them merely for everyday cooking, so I decided to try my hand at making pickle – for the first time!

My mother has this old book – Chutneys & Pickles of India by Duru Jagtiani, which she has used to churn out many a delicious pickle, so that’s where I went to find a recipe for my experiment.

Here is the recipe:

chilli pickle recipe

Now, it didn’t cross my mind that the chillies I was using are what are known as “Bullet Chillies” or in other words ‘hot-as-hell-chillies’!  So I should have removed the seeds from about half of the quantity used. But other than that I love the flavours of this pickle, especially the unusual use of coconut and peanuts in pickle…..haven’t come across that before.

Next time, I will make sure it is less spicy, so people other those who love insanely hot food can eat it too! 😉

Note: Bullet chillies are like Jalapeno chillies and can also be allowed to ripen till red. They keep really well in the fridge for a long time.

Leave a Reply

