Mount Everest by Flight and Photos from Nepal

I haven’t done much significant travelling in the past couple of years, but between 2005 and 2011 I did, and as a result I have a ton of photos to show.

Though photography seems to currently be a dormant hobby of mine, I’m going to use this blog to put up photos I’ve taken during my earlier travels and perhaps also to share a tale or two, as I’ve often taken notes on these journeys.

I’ll start with my trip to Nepal in October 2009.

Ever since I can remember, my father has had a longing to visit Lake Manasarover in Tibet and when he decided to go in 2009, my husband and I accompanied him. We first flew to Varanasi (more on that later) then Nepal and from there drove to Lake Manasarovar (more on that later as well)

So Nepal wasn’t the actual destination, just a stopover. We did however manage to take in a bit of sightseeing in Kathmandu and along the route to the Tibetan border.

In Kathmandu we visited the usual places of interest, such as the Pashupatinath Temple and the Boudhanath Stupa, but my two favourite experiences were the Everest viewing flight and the visit to the fascinating town of Bhaktapur.

The Everest Express trip, courtesy Yeti Airlines wasn’t on our schedule, it was recommended to us while we were there. Now since I’d heard that the aircraft was quite a small one and I am anyway not a big fan of flying, I was rather apprehensive about going. But my fellow travelling companions were definitely going, so there was no way I was going to be left behind!

Early the next morning after getting my first glimpse of the aircraft while waiting to board, I nearly backed out again – it was TINY! Well, I thought so anyway.

But a few minutes into the air, I had no time to think about my fears, since I was completely captivated by the breathtaking view of the Himalayan mountain range. The crew’s informative commentary allowed us to understand exactly what it was we were seeing, as they called out the names of some of the most famous mountain peaks of the world as we passed them.

And then, there it was, sitting regally – Mount Everest.

Nestled between a mountain peak and ridge (if I remember correctly, of the Lhotse mountain) it was not as foreboding as I had imagined it would be, but yet made its majestic presence felt. Almost as if it knew exactly how important it was but did not need to make a show of itself to prove a point.

Unpretentious, but leaving no doubt in your mind of its greatness – that to me was Mount Everest………..but yes, from my vantage point up in the sky.

It took me a while to come to terms with the fact that I had actually seen the highest spot on earth and today nearly four years later, the experience and its accompanying feelings are still vivid in my mind. Just imagine what those who have actually climbed to the summit of Everest must feel!

 

Leave a Reply

