Longing

I long for the days when we had a home

A home to call our own

A place where we could sit in peace

When the rest of the battles were done

I long for the days when our lives were ours

Not a patchwork of other people’s needs

The days when we still had our dreams

Of a future that was ours to weave

I long for the days when I would wake in peace

The new dawn still held a promise for me

A time when I could sleep at night

The new dawn still held a promise for me

I long for the days when we conversed in peace

Not having to wait till the time was right

When we were allowed to feel what we felt

Undisguised by who was about

I long for the days when I could pause for a bit

If only to catch my breath

To lick my wounds and to rise one more time

To face my demons again

I long for the days when there was solitude

Solitude of a different kind

The kind that led me to comfort and peace

Not the darkest corners of my mind

I long for the days when I had space in my head

For your thoughts, your joys, your despair

When I wasn’t the monster I now have become

Consumed by my own ocean of sorrow

I long for the days when my mind wasn’t tired

Numbed by the ache of persistence

Willing my muscles to complete the tasks

My body no longer cares to endeavour

I long for the days when we had a home

A home to call our own

A place where we could sit in peace

When the rest of the battles were done

-Gitanjali Singh Cherian

(Seems to fit perfectly with the Daily Prompt of 3rd March 2016!)

2 thoughts on “Longing

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 15 – “A Second Shot at Redemption” – A Poetic Duet by TooFullToWrite & A Shade Of Pen | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

