Reading Challenge 2016: To read books I own, but have never read

IMG_3221-2

I know there are many of you out there who, like me, love to buy books before you’ve finished reading the ones you already own. I have been guilty of indulging in this pleasure for years and as a result I have some books that are over 10 years old, still unread. It is an addictive indulgence, especially when you come across a book that’s been on your to-read list for ages, or you find an irresistible bargain at the second hand store or simply because buying a good book makes you feel good!

So I am setting a challenge for myself – to read at least 15 books in 2016 that I own but have never read or that are sitting amongst my parents’ large book collection at their home (as on 27th December 2015).

I will be updating my progress on this blog. Let’s see how I fare!

I wonder if this challenge will in any way curb my book purchasing habits. Somehow, I don’t think it will!

Do you own a pile of books you have never read? Do you have a reading challenge for 2016? I would love to hear about it.

11 thoughts on “Reading Challenge 2016: To read books I own, but have never read

  1. Pingback: 2016 Reading Challenge – Book 1: My Sainted Aunts by Bulbul Sharma | Can I Do It All?

  2. Pingback: Reading Challenge 2016 – Book 2: The Enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie | Can I Do It All?

  3. Pingback: Reading Challenge 2016 – Book 3: The Mousewife by Rumer Godden | Can I Do It All?

  4. Pingback: Reading Challenge 2016 – Book 6: How Green Was My Valley by Richard Llewellyn | Sleeping Frogs

  5. Pingback: Reading Challenge 2016: Book 9 – The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown | Sleeping Frogs

  6. This is a good idea for a challenge but somehow I doubt it will curb your buying habits. I do the same thing and have books on my shelves that I really want to read. Too many books, too little time, but I’d rather have it that way than the other way round.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are absolutely correct – it hasn’t curbed my book buying habits one teeny bit! In fact I think this year has seen me buy more books than ever before. It is a vicious cycle, but like you’ve said, one I am quite happy to be caught up in 🙂

      Like

  7. Pingback: Reading Challenge 2016: Book 14 – Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss | Sleeping Frogs

  8. Pingback: 2016 Reading Challenge – Completed! | Sleeping Frogs

Leave a Reply

