Book Review – The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

IMG_3664

(My rating: 1 / 5)

I was quite relieved when I came to the end of this book, which admittedly is a “page turner” in the sense that it can be read quickly, because there isn’t really much to absorb. It’s the kind of book where you’ve forgotten what you’ve read 10 pages ago, but you just keep going.

In this “thriller” which sadly I didn’t find “thrilling”enough, a girl (woman actually) takes the same train everyday and it happens to go past the house she used to live in at one time. From there the story takes off and links to previous and current events and people in her life. (I don’t want to give too much away and spoil it for those of you who haven’t read it!)

For me, the female characters (who each narrate in the first person) sounded exactly like each other. I also found the writing and narrative a bit annoying.

I think Hawkins’ portrayal of a particular kind of alcoholic was done well and there were a few observations that stood out for me. For example, on Pg 85 “But I did become sadder, and sadness gets boring after a while, for the sad person and for everyone around them.” But that was about it. It just wasn’t my cup of tea I guess, because I know so many people loved it.

I was quite upset, because I really did want to love this book and had been saving it for a while, to sit back and enjoy.

Oh well, I have a feeling it’s the kind of story I’d rather watch the movie of, so I shall wait for that.

 

 

One thought on “Book Review – The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

  1. Pingback: The 35 books I read in 2016 | Sleeping Frogs

Leave a Reply

