Reading Challenge 2016: Book 9 – The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

IMG_3937

(My Rating: 3/5)

The Lost Symbol, which I picked up from my mother’s bookshelf as part of my 2016 Reading Challenge, is the third Dan Brown book featuring Robert Langdon (Yes, of course you know which the other two books are!) and it did feel quite like the method and plot were the same as with the other two – just different characters, a different city and some other details of the ‘mystery that must be solved in an unbelievably short period of time’. The Freemasons still feature of course and this time the plot revolves around an ancient pyramid shaped item that has been passed down through generations and holds the answer to something very, very important.

Dan Brown books are no works of great literature, but he does know how to entertain and keep you reading. This was thus perfect for the five-day holiday I was on at a remote coffee estate last month when I read the book. 500 pages. 5 days. Just perfect.

I must also say that besides being entertained, every time I have read a Dan Brown book I have always gained at least some new and interesting knowledge. For example, I hadn’t heard about Noetic Science till I read this book. (Am I the only one?!) I think he does his research well, knows the topics he writes about and is quite clever with how he weaves his stories, though some of the events do seem a tad far fetched.

I found the climax of the book a bit of a let down, but did appreciate the message that was being communicated at the end of the book.

Finally, the book also mentions a quote by Albert Pike that I hadn’t heard before, and that is amongst my favourites now; I find it very inspiring at a very personal level:

“What we have done for ourselves alone dies with us; what we have done for others and the world remains and is immortal.”

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge 2016: Book 9 – The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

  1. Pingback: 2016 Reading Challenge – Completed! | Sleeping Frogs

  2. Pingback: The 35 books I read in 2016 | Sleeping Frogs

Leave a Reply

