Iftar Food in Bangalore

 

IMG_4104

A small sample of the various types of Biriyani that were on offer

As Islam’s holy month of Ramadan (also known as Ramzan) is coming to an end today, I thought I would share with you my experience with the delicious Iftar food I ate last week in Bangalore, India.

Iftar refers to the evening meal with which believers break the fast that they observe during daylight hours.

Bangalore’s Mosque Road comes alive at the time of the breaking of the fast and every year during Ramadan permanent restaurants and temporary food stalls are abuzz with activity. The sights, smells and tastes are a royal treat for the senses!

This was my first year at Mosque Road during Ramadan, though I have been meaning to check it out for some years.

IMG_4106

Grilled and fried meats including Chicken, Mutton, Lamb, Crabs, Fish and Prawns, all made with various combinations of spices

 

My favourite dish was Haleem, a slow cooked mutton, wheat and lentil dish, flavoured with spices such as cinnamon and cardamom. Sometimes it is made with chicken or beef and some rice or barley as well. This was only my second time eating Haleem, the first being when I happened to be in Hyderabad during Ramadan one year, but it is now definitely on my list of comfort foods and I plan to try my hand at making it.

Another one of my favourites last week was something called Cream Chicken Stick (see third tray from the left on the top row in the picture above)– chicken on a skewer, dipped in a stringy, eggy (and I’m guessing cream) batter and deep fried. It was so good! My 4 year old had three of them at one go! 

The Sheekh Kebabs (spicy minced mutton kebabs) were good too, and of course, as expected, I consumed copious amounts of Biriyani.

There were many more interesting dishes and drinks, but I couldn’t possibly have tried another morsel! Anyway, there’s always next year.

IMG_4109

Marinated lamb brains, waiting to be transformed into Brain Fry

IMG_4110

Colourful drinks! I wonder what the Mexican Soda is all about.

To end this post, let me leave you with a link to the Reuters website, where you will find some interesting and informative photos and text on Iftar food from around the world.

And finally, Eid Mubarak! to all those celebrating Eid Al Fitr around the world tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Iftar Food in Bangalore

  1. Great post and pics! I once passed by Bangalore on the way to Mysore on my last trip to India 10 years ago. I will try to spend some time there this time. I need to sample those birianis and the lassis look very nice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

