2016 Reading Challenge – Completed!

Dear Reader,

I am very happy to report that I have completed my 2016 Reading Challenge, which, for those of you who don’t know, was to read 15 books that I owned at the end of 2015 but had never read. Many of these I have had for 10 or even 15 years!

After my son was born, my habit of reading had waned for a couple of years, but joyfully, around this time last year, the reading bug seemed to have caught up with me again. I thought 15 books might be a stretch, given that I hadn’t read anything in so long, but guess what, I actually completed the challenge at the end of August, 4 months in advance!

Not only have I read 15 ‘old’ books, but I have also read a number of books that I acquired over this year. (I’ll give you a re-cap of those at the end of this calendar year.) I thought I would struggle to finish 15, so as you can imagine, I am feeling rather chuffed with myself! And with 4 months to go till 2017, perhaps I’ll even be able to surpass the challenge by a book or two, who knows!

For now, here are links to the reviews I’ve written for the 15 books I read for my challenge:

  1. My Sainted Aunts by Bulbul Sharma
  2. The Enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie
  3. The Mousewife by Rumer Godden
  4. Words of Freedom (Bhagat Singh)
  5. Hindu Gods: The Spirit of The Divine by Priya Hemenway
  6. How Green Was My Valley by Richard Llewellyn
  7. Golden Rules by Wayne Dosick
  8. The Kalahari Typing School for Men by Alexander McCall Smith
  9. The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown
  10. The Full Cupboard of Life by Alexander McCall Smith
  11. A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson
  12. The Call of the Wild by Jack London
  13. Golden Bats and Pink Pigeons by Gerald Durrell
  14. Eats, Shoots and Leaves by Lynne Truss
  15. Persuasion by Jane Austen

Happy reading to all you book lovers out there!

9 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenge – Completed!

    • Hahaha! Gosh, I have so many books on my To-Read list that I think it would take more than one lifetime to finish them all! So, plenty to choose from! The idea of this challenge was to force myself to read at least some of books that had just been lying around for years 🙂

      Like

    • Hi Joyce! How Green Was My Valley for sure and also The Call Of The Wild. The former is definitely one of my all time favourites now, and funnily, it was my grandfather’s favourite book! Have you read either? I have always been interested in historical fiction, but somehow haven’t got around to reading too much of it. Must give it a go now 🙂

      Like

  1. I love your mix of books, there really is something to interest everyone here. Rushdie is an author I need to get to sooner or later. I look forward to your next challenge if you attempt one and if not, then any words you write are always well worth the read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for those kind (and encouraging!) words – you have made my day 🙂
      Funnily, the Rushdie I have enjoyed the most so far (I’ve only read 3-4 books though) is his collection of non-fiction writing called Step Across This Line. I thought the writing was brilliant – a real wordsmith that man! I read that a long time ago though, so must give it a re-read to see how I feel about it now.
      However, for his fiction, I feel one really has to be in the right mood for it – it’s not something I would pick up at random and read. I have Midnight’s Children and am looking forward to getting lost in that when the Rushdie mood next strikes! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

